Living Simply

 
We finally took the plunge and traded in our microwave for a toaster oven.  We knew that the microwave was not a healthy choice for our kitchen, but the convienience of it kept it on our counter.  After receiving some money for my birthday, I decided that it was time to give up the "convienience" in favor of health. 

I have been pleased to discover that preparing food now is EASIER than before!  A few things take more time -- heating water and making oatmeal -- but I've gained easier meal prep and better tasting food!

We bought a Hamilton Beach Extra Large Counter Top Oven with Convection and Rotisserie.  It is only a couple inches taller than our old microwave and fits in the same spot on the counter.  I love that it holds two 12 inch pizzas (even though we haven't used it for pizza yet). and that is has a large, clear glass door -- I love the ease of being able to see my food cook/reheat and know when it is done!

So, even though my 2 year old is not liking the extra time it takes to make oatmeal on the stove in the morning, I'm enjoying the ease of reheating food and cooking in less time than using my oven.  It pre-heats much faster and with the convections setting, cooks much faster too!  I made the most wonderful baked chicken the other night in half the time it would have taken in the oven!



Leave a Reply.