Living Simply

 
Continuing on with ridding chemicals from my family's life, I tackled lip balm and was pleasantly surprised with the results!  I think this recipe is sooo much better than Chapstix or Burts Bees and since it is petroleum-free my wonderful husband can even kiss me without dealing with his reaction to petroleum products!

I use my "improvised double boiler method" to make lip balm, lotion bars, lotion, deodorant so that I don't have to do extra dishes!
- Place all ingredients in a glass jar and place the jar in a pan of hot water on the stove.  You can easily keep the water hot (and melt your ingredients without dirtying a pan or worrying about burning your ingredients.  This is especially helpful since I have little ones and can't keep a constant eye on my projects :-)  When you are done, just cool the jar and leftover ingredients in the jar, put the lid on the jar, label the jar and save until next time.  Dump the hot water out of your pan and place in dish drainer to dry -- no dishes!

Natural Lip Balm
3 Tbsp Bees Wax
2 Tbsp Palm Oil or Coconut Oil
2-3 Tbsp Shea Butter
1 Tbsp Sweet Almond Oil

Melt everything together in your jar.  Use a small dropper or syringe to fill empty lip balm tubes.  Cool filled tubes and use!  Makes about 25-30 tubes.

I'm still trying to figure out how to add beet powder to make a tinted lip balm...so far my beet powder has not really mixed in and not really tinted enough to





Leave a Reply.