Living Simply

 
In your local supermarket you can find many, many cleaning supply choices.  Many are even made for a specific task (toilets, tile, kitchen, etc.).  Some even claim to be "green" or "all natural".  I'm convinced that you don't need all these products and you especially don't need to devote an entire cupboard of space to cleaning supplies! 
Here is a list of what I keep in my home and use on a regular basis:

Vinegar -- a great all-purpose cleaner and disinfectant
Baking Soda -- great at getting "scum" off stuff
Bleach -- I only use this in the toilet bowl, I haven't found anything else that gets the toilet smelling really clean
UPDATE -- I've started to use oxygen bleach powder in the toilet bowl with great results -- no more chlorine bleach!

Rags
Scrub Brush -- for the tub/shower and tile grout
Scrub Brush -- for the toilet

Fill an empty spray bottle with vinegar and use it as an all-purpose cleaner.  Vinegar is a great disinfectant also, it just needs time to work.  So, I spray down my bathroom (toilet, sink, shower), close the door, go and do something else for 10 minutes -- fold a load of laundry, feed the baby, wash dishes -- then back to the bathroom to wipe it all down!  It also works great on mirrors (no streaks) and on disolving soap scum and hard water scum. 

I also use vinegar as a produce "rinse" -- put produce in a collander, spray, let sit, rinse, eat!

I sprinkle baking soda in the bottom of my bathtub and use the scrub brush to scrub away the soap and hard water scum ring around my tub.  Then I follow this up with a vinegar spray.

I'm just starting to become familiar with essential oils, so at some point I'll probably start adding essential oils to my vinegar -- this will also help with the "vinegar" smell!

What frugal and natural cleaning supplies do you use?



Leave a Reply.