Living Simply

 
Cooking from scratch is easy, quick and inexpensive with a bit of advance planning and the right recipies.  I marvel at all the magazines that boast "5 Easy Weeknight Meals in 30 Minutes or Less."  I look at these recipies and agree that they may take less than 30 minutes to make, but they require expensive pre-made "convenience" foods, are unhealthy, require things I don't keep stocked in my kitchen, or are something my husband will not eat, not to mention my toddler.  

I also desire that my family eats as healthy as possible.  This means I make most things from scratch because then I know what is in it -- avoiding processed foods and preservatives.  I only use whole wheat flour, brown rice and oatmeal (I'm working on incorporating a variety of other whole grains).  I buy whole milk from cows not given hormones, real butter, coconut oil, etc.

The key to cooking from scratch is to plan ahead.  Some things take very little hands on time but require longer cooking times or require soaking (dried beans) before they can be cooked.  I try to do as much of my supper prep as possible in the mornings -- my toddler is happiest then and this reduces a stressed and rushed dinner time.  I also like to make bigger batches and freeze the extras for another meal -- this takes basically the same amount of time and you made two meals at once!

Check out the Recipies section for some great and easy "Real Food" recipies!



Leave a Reply.